Android – Can’t Find Theme.AppCompat.Light

Eclipse is so weird. The resources can seem to wonder off by themselves. The project itself was working last night, but gives me the following error in style.xml today.

<resources xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android">

    <style name="AppBaseTheme" parent="Theme.AppCompat.Light">
    </style>

    <style name="AppTheme" parent="AppBaseTheme">
    </style>

</resources>
error: Error retrieving parent for item: No resource found that matches 
the given name 'Theme.AppCompat.Light'.

 

After tracing the error a little bit from google, I learned from a solution from StackOverflow[1] that my appcompat was off..

error

 

To fix this, all I did was:

  1. Right click on the project
  2. Select Android from the left hand side
  3. Add the appcompat_v7 folder and hit okay.

So now, instead of having a red cross mark on the screen shown above, it should now have a green tick beside the newly added appcompat.

And that’s all. 😀

 

Source:
[1] http://stackoverflow.com/questions/17870881/cant-find-theme-appcompat-light-for-new-android-actionbar-support

 

3 thoughts on “Android – Can’t Find Theme.AppCompat.Light

    • I took 265 with Matt as well though he was my TA instead of my instructor lol. I know that Eclipse is far more powerful but it just gets on my nerves sometimes XD

Comments are closed.